That British Gem (or Why does the UK gov’t hate the NHS?)

I have this jewel of common good
A proof of social capital
Where every sick, poor, lost, doomed, soul
Is treated as individual
A simple pearl of light done right
Global beacon of the practical

This human rumour, shared response
My catch-all of public collateral
Has gifted our forebears the wealth of health
And pledged my heirs
Theirs in perpetual.
My gem of preciousness nearly unique
Endows a nation; achievable

Lately the state, for private account,
Seeks to plunder this bounty – sly and piecemeal
I feel their reach,
Their devious claw
The foetid breath,
The nocturnal,
And fear a loss so great and deep.

Still,
I doubt these Devils
unstoppable

Young children unsure of the benefits of sun-lamps, Bristol health centre, July 1948.

Young children unsure of the benefits of sun-lamps, Bristol health centre, July 1948.

Originally posted, then deleted, then posted again…